FlytrapCare Carnivorous Plant Forums

Sponsored by FlytrapStore.com

Discuss fertilization techniques here. For advanced growers only!

Moderator: Matt

By MaxVft
Hello all
I have never used Maxsea before and got 1 tablespoon as a bonus with a trade I did. I have read you need to mix it 1/4 of a tablespoon to 1 gallon. I don't really think I'll be using that much water for it, and I just want to fill a small 2-ounce spray bottle with the stuff to try it out for a couple weeks. I don't currently have a TDS or PPM meter with me, so would 1 or 2 of the bigger grains of Maxsea work for this? I know this is kinda stupid to ask, but I am just asking questions that I hope to be answered by the forum :)
Thanks and happy growing
Max
By evenwind
If you're experimenting, you should really try to get an accurate measurement. Maybe someone you know has a set of the sub-1/4 teaspoon measuring spoons? When I first tried out Maxsea for my seedlings, I finally wound up having to mix a whole gallon to get the measurement correct. I poured off what immediately needed and saved the rest.
MaxVft liked this
By bcavanau
Glad you will put the Maxsea to use. I just mix a gallon, and use it as needed. It will last a long time, just store it out of light, and somewhere cool. I store it in the basement next to my grow tent.

A gallon will probably last me a year or more at this point. I mist it on my "bulk" plants, but use a small syringe to put it on the trap/leaves of my "trophy" flytraps, trying my best to miss the trigger hairs as to not unnecessarily trigger any traps. For drosera I just put a few drops on the leaf/dew. And for sarracenia, I squirt a bit into the pitchers.

Good luck.
Brian
MaxVft liked this
By ChefDean
Mix the 1/4 tsp per gallon of distilled water, and use that to fill your 2 oz bottle. Mixed, it will be more stable, and will last a loooooong time in a cool, dark place. Keep the dry portion in your fridge to keep it dry.