FlytrapCare Carnivorous Plant Forums

Sponsored by FlytrapStore.com

Discussions about anything related to Venus Flytraps, cultivars and named clones

Moderator: Matt

By CPhunter101
I don't trust hardware stores, their plants are almost always in terrible condition. Most often, they must be immediately repotted and healed.
Sure, rescuing plants may sound awesome but its like gambling, the plants have a 50:50 chance of dying on you. This risk increases for beginners.
I've already wasted 25 bucks trying (saving plants does NOT mean that you save money), don't make the same mistake!
This forum has an awesome list of refutable sellers which you can purchase from. These plants can recover easily and are suitable for beginners.
By ChefDean
For absolute beginners, buy an established, potted VFT from a reputable source. You'll spend more, but the recovery time will be a matter of days as long as it's not still dormant. Keep it outside, make sure it doesn't freeze during dormancy, and you'll have a great plant for years. You should be able to find a variety of plants, it just comes down to how much you want to spend for how pretty of a plant.
However, if you're still a beginner, but have a little experience and new media, check out the deathcubes at the hardware stores or Wally World. Even though they're all typicals, I've seen some that look like a variety cultivars, so you can still get an assortment. My last deathcube acquisition is so dark purple that it's almost black.
Matt, MikeB liked this
By Nepenthes0260
I think every CP enthusiast will once in a while snag a death cube VFT from Lowe's to revive :lol:.

For a beginner, it's best to buy a healthy specimen from a well-known nursery (like FTS).

Another pro to getting death-cube VFTs is that sometimes you can find interesting clones. The cultivar "MD Buttcheeks" was a TC mutation found in a death cube, along with "Cross Teeth China". One of my best clones I got from a death cube a few years ago, from Altman Plants.