FlytrapCare Carnivorous Plant Forums

Sponsored by FlytrapStore.com

Discussions about anything related to Venus Flytraps, cultivars and named clones

Moderator: Matt

By septembersapphire21
I actually got two VFTs instead of one in the same pot, this is Harold btw! The pot is four inches, have drainage holes and it's plastic. I tried my best to clean off peat moss from the rhizomes/roots before putting the traps in the new mixture. It's 60 sphagnum moss and 40 perlite. Let me know if everything I did looks good and if there's anything I should correct. I also watered him once I was done with distilled water. I think things do look good but I wanna hear an experts opinion.
Attachments:
20210416_125933.jpg
20210416_125933.jpg (3.59 MiB) Viewed 4472 times
CPhunter101 liked this
By CPhunter101
I'm no expert but I can say that you've done a great job repotting Harold! :)
Just wondering, do you top water or water using the tray method? I can't really tell based on your picture.
By CPhunter101
Hmmm... Top watering is fine but most CP growers use the tray method since it mimics a flytrap's natural environment. You can search this method in the forum to get more info on it.
Basically, place a container or tray underneath the flytrap's pot. Then, pour 1-2 inches of water into the container. Next, let the water evaporate (this may take a couple days) and pour water in again.
I've heard that flytraps dislike top watering regularly. The tray method could improve your flytrap's health.
By Panman
I recently shifted from tray watering to top watering. Unless you have very tall pots, it is difficult to keep the flytraps roots out of the water zone. For short pots, I would definitely recommend top watering, if you can keep the plants wet enough without them drying out.
CPhunter101 liked this
By CPhunter101