FlytrapCare Carnivorous Plant Forums

Sponsored by FlytrapStore.com

Discuss Nepenthes plant care here

Moderator: Matt

By blueovalgal
Wow, looks really good! I have/bought a plant which looks similar to yours and in that same potting mix... I think that mix is peat? Anyway, I washed that mix off, divided, and repotted into spag moss... so far so good... (newbie here.)
By optique
Did your roots look like the ones in the photo I posted? Soaked them in water for 30min then used the garden hose on it, and it wanted to stay together. Instead of tearing the tiny black roots I just stopped.

I went by where I got it from last week they still had 3 of the 6 they got in the day I got mine, and they looked so bad. Like 6 pitchers each and no new growth at all. They are under a 50% shade cloth must be going dry?
By Fieldofscreams
Now that you have had it long enough and you know that it has adapted to your conditions you would be fine just ripping the root ball apart. You will break roots but the plants will be fine.

Soak it for a good hour and just start pulling it apart. Once you have repotted put them back where they were before. They will continue to grow like nothing happened.

It's a ventrata, it's nuke proof.
By blueovalgal
Yes, the roots on my plants looked the same. I was able to get most of the potting mix out, tried to untangle the roots to its respective parent plant, and tore apart the rest.

I did as Fieldofscreams wrote above.

Haven't been able to figure out how to post my location but I'm in Zone 10 in Southern CA. I have my plants hanging outside in the patio where they receive late afternoon sun, and they've been out there for a few months. All are doing well. (One plant was purchased from a big box store and two plants were purchased from a local garden center.)
By optique