FlytrapCare Carnivorous Plant Forums

Sponsored by FlytrapStore.com

Discuss Drosera, Byblis, and Drosophyllum plant care here

Moderator: Matt

By calusa747
I’m pretty new to keeping carnivorous plants so bear with me. I’ve had my Drosera filiformis var. floridana since last summer, and it was really healthy; amazing growth, awesome coloration, flowering like crazy in July through August, and caught a lot of bugs. When autumn hit, it started to die off, so I decided to keep it underneath (along with a pitcher plant) a plastic tub on the porch to shield it from the cold and winter winds (I live in the Appalachians of NC so winters here can be pretty brutal). However, throughout the winter, I didn’t water too much (I know you’re supposed to keep the soil damp during dormancy but I was afraid of freezing so I only did so a handful of times; plus, it’s usually humid all throughout the year in the area so I didn’t think too much of it) and whenever I checked the soil it was pretty dry. As the weather has warmed, I’ve put them back out (inside the tub right-side up this time to shield them from cold night breezes) but don’t expect to see much growth until it significantly warms back up. I’ve started to keep the soil damp as I have always been, but I’m afraid that it went too long without water and it’s hibernacula ended up dying through winter. I’ve been searching all over to see if anyone has had something similar happen and I’ve come up with nothing, and I’m unsure how to tell if it’s dead or still dormant.

If worst comes to worst I’ll buy new plants and be more conscientious next time.

I appreciate the help y’all.
Attachments:
IMG_4641.jpg
IMG_4641.jpg (3.29 MiB) Viewed 2947 times
IMG_4640.jpg
IMG_4640.jpg (3.81 MiB) Viewed 2947 times
IMG_4639.jpg
IMG_4639.jpg (2.71 MiB) Viewed 2947 times
By optique
I would give it some time just in case. You never know