FlytrapCare Carnivorous Plant Forums

Sponsored by FlytrapStore.com

Discuss water requirements, "soil" (growing media) and suitable planting containers

Moderator: Matt

By Vanval1230
Hi everyone, 
So I've been doing some research and it looks like many people recommend repotting fly traps yearly. I feel like this is too much work(i have around 100 plants and im a full time student) and waste of medium(peat & sphagnum), so is there any method that will still allow the plants to thrive such as by only changing the top or lower portions of the potting medium? Would it have the same effect when simply unpotting, loosening the mix, then repotting with the same mix? And how can you tell when the medium is not good anymore? Will the repot drastically change vft growth? I have watched the relatively recent video made by FTS relating to this.
Thanks.
By sanguinearocks101
I repot every 2 years for all my plants. I have heard of people using sulphur chips or something like that to prevent the media breaking down in bog gardens. I have not tried it before so don’t take my word for it.
Vanval1230, MikeB liked this
By Vanval1230
Hmm yeah, I'm thinking of taking the repotting every 2 years approach, or at least repotting only my favorites yearly.
Does time of year affect the growth of the vft, so if I were to repot middle of spring would it be better for my plants health if I just left them in older medium than repotting during the wrong time? Had this happen last yr where i repotted some flytraps middle/late spring and they went dormant all summer? Never knew this could happen or what exactly triggered this.
I know the plants are supposed to thrive much better with fresh media but how much?
What benefits most, the size of the traps or the amount of growth/divisions the plants will put out? These are some thoughts I've had when deciding which plants to prioritze on my spare time.
By MikeB