FlytrapCare Carnivorous Plant Forums

Sponsored by FlytrapStore.com

Moderator: Matt

By Supercazzola
I need a RO/DI unit to hold me over until the summer rains come back in FL. I do not have a need for a faucet or something that goes under the sink. I literally will hook this up to an outdoor water supply and let the waste water go into the pool.

Would a unit like https://www.amazon.com/Aquatic-Life-Ch ... 19&sr=8-43 be ok? Or are there better recommendations? Appreciate your thoughts ...
Panman, elaineo, CPhunter101 liked this
By Do_Gon
I've been using that unit for over a year now and it works well for me. No pool so I collect the waste water in a bucket and hit the lawn with it as my gallons fill. I got the extra filter for chlorine from their site and added it. Not sure if the one you linked to includes it or not.
Supercazzola liked this
By eriction
I've been using this unit for 4-5 years for my aquariums and now my CPs. Simple to use, hooks up to outdoor faucet. Produces about 2 gallons of water per hour for me. The only catch is the sediment filter clogs really fast for me, I've since replaced that with a larger canister sediment filter. The carbon block removed chlorine so no need for the extra filter. For a cheap ready to go system that you're not using long term I'd say this is a good fit. If you want more quality you can check out bulkreefsupply for their RODI units.
Supercazzola, Eurloch liked this
By eriction
Panman wrote:This may be just what I was looking for. How often do you have to replace the filters?
For reference my tap comes out around 40 TDS and I only make about 3-4 gallons of RODI water a week. Your mileage will vary from mine if your tap water is much higher.

-Sediment I replace when the flow rate slows down considerably - where I am in NYC, the sediment is extremely high, flow slowed after 100 gallons (RO + Waste)