FlytrapCare Carnivorous Plant Forums

Sponsored by FlytrapStore.com

Say hello and tell everyone a bit about yourself.

Moderator: Matt

By Kyaw Thuta
Hi!
I am not really a beginner, I’ve been growing carnivorous plants for about 2 and a half years and I’ve really had great success with CPs. I have this question about sarracenia psittacina and it’s hybrid sarracenia Scarlett belle. So I a while back, I found a guy saying that you can grow sarracenia psittacina submerged in water, and that in the wild they frequently get submerged in water. And I’ve also stumbled across some posts in this forum about the topic too! So I was on YouTube and this YouTuber with the name of “Helix plants”, conducted an experiment where he put a s. psittacina in an aquarium with sufficient sunlight and water for six months and I’d say that it was a significant success! The plant grew prolifically but it was trying to get above the water level to go back to it’s normal growing habit. So I have a sarracenia Scarlett belle (which is a hybrid of the sarracenia psittacina) at home. And even though it’s a hybrid, can I do the same thing? Please help me out. I only have one sarracenia psittacina and where I live CPs are scarce and rare to buy, and I don’t want to lose it but I also want to experiment with it. Oh and below is the link of the video of the experiment he did.
By Matt
Welcome to the forum, AJ! Glad to see you found your way here and figured out how to post :D

I can't answer your question about growing a S. psittacina hybrid submerged in water, but if your plant is large enough, you could take a division of it to try it out yourself!
By Kyaw Thuta
Matt wrote: Tue Mar 09, 2021 4:18 pm Welcome to the forum, AJ! Glad to see you found your way here and figured out how to post :D

I can't answer your question about growing a S. psittacina hybrid submerged in water, but if your plant is large enough, you could take a division of it to try it out yourself!
Thanks Matt,