FlytrapCare Carnivorous Plant Forums

Sponsored by FlytrapStore.com

Discussions about anything related to Venus Flytraps, cultivars and named clones

Moderator: Matt

By aooborromeo
I am watering it by putting in a dish of water and little it absorb from the bottom. It’s on a window sill with direct sunlight going in and I got it in February. I’m reading a lot about dormancy and I’m not sure if this trap got that, how will I know when that should get started or when I should help it get started and if so should I do it now in March? And does it look okay? I’m not sure I’m doing this right. This is my first time with carnivorous plants. And can I feed it in the summertime small dried insects that I rehydrate
Attachments:
image.jpg
image.jpg (2.36 MiB) Viewed 1732 times
image.jpg
image.jpg (2.2 MiB) Viewed 1732 times
image.jpg
image.jpg (2.23 MiB) Viewed 1732 times
image.jpg
image.jpg (2.26 MiB) Viewed 1732 times
image.jpg
image.jpg (2.17 MiB) Viewed 1732 times
image.jpg
image.jpg (2.2 MiB) Viewed 1732 times
By Panman
It looks okay for just getting it a couple of weeks ago. I'm going to assume that you are in the northern hemisphere so at this point you don't need to worry about dormancy. A few things that will help. First, with that shallow of a pot, you do not want it to sit in a saucer of water. Sitting it in water will likely lead to root rot. You are better off to water it as the top starts to feel a little drier. Second, it looks like the plant is a little too deep in the soil. New growth shouldn't have to push its way through the soil. You want it planted so that just the white part of the rhizome (bulb) is below the soil. Finally, a sunny window will not be enough light long term for a flytrap. It likes at least 4-6 hours of direct, unfiltered sunlight a day. Finally, remember that there are three things you must have to grow a flytrap:
1. Soil - sphagnum moss or a 50/50 mix of peat/perlite
2. Water - Distilled, RO, or rain water.