FlytrapCare Carnivorous Plant Forums

Sponsored by FlytrapStore.com

Discuss Sarracenia, Heliamphora, Darlingtonia, Cephalotus plant care here

Moderator: Matt

By caned_monkey
Hi, everyone.

I was the lucky recipient of a Venus Fly Trap and Sarracenia for my birthday last October. My VFT is thriving and getting on perfectly well but my Sarracenia doesn't look happy and nothing I've tried seems to reverse the decline (see pic). I've zero experience with these plant so I'm hoping some knowledgeable folk on here maybe able to help.

The information I've read seems to suggest that the problem may be a lack of water or humidity which I don't think it could be either. I've always kept it wet (but not too wet) and there is plenty of moisture in the air at this time of year. It's on my north facing kitchen window sill and that room is not heated so I don't think it can be too warm or getting too much sun either.

I've always used rain water except once when I had run out and it hadn't rained for ages. I used boiled water from the kettle as I was told this would be ok but I don't think it liked it at all so I got rid of it and fortunately it rained a few days later. Could it be that?

Or, is this just natural winter die back and it will spring back in the spring?

Any advice would be greatly appreciated, thank you.
Attachments:
IMG_20210114_120530.jpg
IMG_20210114_120530.jpg (1.43 MiB) Viewed 5409 times
By Panman
Where are you located? If you are in the northern hemisphere, it is likely just dormant. Pitchers will die back during that time. Has it always been growing in the window like that? Sarrs like a lot of light so it may also be light starved.
MikeB liked this
By steve booth
I'm afraid that using boiled water to water the plant isn't good, as all boiling does is to increase the mineral content of the water which makes matters worse. That said if you have only done that once or twice and have rinsed the media through with rainwater since it should be fine.