FlytrapCare Carnivorous Plant Forums

Sponsored by FlytrapStore.com

Discuss any carnivorous plant that doesn't fit in the above categories here or general chat about carnivorous plants

Moderator: Matt

By Fuggle
Hi, I'm fairly new to growing Carnivorous Plants, and was wondering what plants you could suggest I buy which are relatively easy to grow for beginners? I already have a Venus Fly Trap and a Nepenthes X Ventrata (Monkey Cup) and they are both doing well after a year or so. Any suggestions and tips would be greatly appreciated.

Many thanks,

Fuggle :D
By murrkywaters
What climate are you in?

Sent from my SM-G975U using Tapatalk

By Nepenthes0260
Drosera capensis, spathulata, x Tokaiensis, and aliciae are some great and easy sundews. Also Sarracenias are quite easy.
Fuggle liked this
By Apollyon
Pinguicula is also pretty easy for the most part and a lot of them stay small. A lot of them are also more flexible with soil mixes. I second the sundews though. That's a good second choice. The ones he listed are very tough plants
Fuggle liked this
By Fuggle
murrkywaters wrote: Fri Dec 04, 2020 2:39 pm What climate are you in?
Hello mate, I'm in the South East of England so warm to hot, humid summers and long, cold winters. ;)
By Fuggle
Nepenthes0260 wrote: Fri Dec 04, 2020 3:20 pm Drosera capensis, spathulata, x Tokaiensis, and aliciae are some great and easy sundews. Also Sarracenias are quite easy.
Thanks mate, I'll try some of your suggestions right after Christmas. 8-)
Nepenthes0260 liked this
By Fuggle
Apollyon wrote: Fri Dec 04, 2020 4:54 pm Pinguicula is also pretty easy for the most part and a lot of them stay small. A lot of them are also more flexible with soil mixes. I second the sundews though. That's a good second choice. The ones he listed are very tough plants
Thanks Apollyon, I'll take a look at Pinguiculae too. You guys are giving me some great suggestions! Much appreciated. :D
By tommyr