FlytrapCare Carnivorous Plant Forums

Sponsored by FlytrapStore.com

Discuss Sarracenia, Heliamphora, Darlingtonia, Cephalotus plant care here

Moderator: Matt

By momchi
Hi everyone,
I am a newbie in this, have read and watched many YouTube videos on CPs, but lack any practical experience - have a VFT for a few months (since August, I think) and, last week just before Thanksgiving was happy as a child on Christmas day to accidentally pick up a poor little baby Sarracenia Purpurea from Walmart shelf, left almost dry.

Watered it for a few days now, but also trying not to disturb its dormancy - in Walmart was left inside the store, no sunshine definitely.

Had to chop off a few leaves that had fungus growing on them.

I know S. Purpurea should be 'more northern' specie but this seems only a little seedling (?) to me, so should I keep it inside (basement) where it's around 50 on a small window that unfortunate does not get almost any direct sunlight... Or, I should keep it in the garage (same parameters window) but where can easily down to sub-30s as the winter progresses...?

Also, does 'moist but not wet' should apply to seedlings too? Or, they could be allowed more water (from a tray)?

Can I use Neem to avoid fungus?

Sorry for the many questions, I really find this little baby plant very cute, so want it to have best chance of surviving this winter... Thanks! :)
IMG_20201127_152928.jpg
IMG_20201127_152928.jpg (3.95 MiB) Viewed 1802 times
By murrkywaters