FlytrapCare Carnivorous Plant Forums

Sponsored by FlytrapStore.com

Discussions about fluorescent, LED and other types of grow lighting for Venus Flytraps and other plants

Moderator: Matt

By newbietocp
I'm still a newbie and have done some research into lighting. I've read this post how-much-light-do-you-really-need-t31035.html but still confused about what's not working with my set-up.

My current set up is a 35W 3500K Canagrow LED grow bulb (https://www.amazon.ca/gp/product/B07Q78 ... UTF8&psc=1) on a gooseneck clamp light. I have it almost directly above at 12-14" from my drosera spatulata and adelae for 12hrs a day.

According to the manufacturer:
8in --> 2224umol (0.2m2)
12in --> 1045umol (0.5m2)

From there, I calculated my DLI and it's 45.12.
I used this DLI calculator: https://www.waveformlighting.com/hortic ... calculator
According to this chart, my droseras should be good, no? https://curiousplant.com/light-carnivor ... ts-part-2/
But I still have very little dews on them and tbh, they look pretty "crisp" today, especially the adelae.

I've asked questions in a carnivorous plant group on Facebook and was told that I need better grow light (6500K, 50W, 2000lm at minimum) or have my current light even closer. But I have limited space so I have very few options in terms of new light: either a clip-on light or an easy strip light with minimal screwing/drilling involved. I don't have anywhere to hang a complete grow light panel.

I've done some research on light and here are a few options that would work for my space.
- Option 1: 100W, possibly 5000K https://www.amazon.ca/Sunlike-Spectrum- ... P1YR9DT3JC
- Option 2: 150W, 2600lm https://www.amazon.ca/Spectrum-ECRU-Equ ... RAGAS3CJPB
- Option 3: Sunblaster 12" LED strip light, 6400K https://www.amazon.ca/SunBlaster-090070 ... 186&sr=1-9