FlytrapCare Carnivorous Plant Forums

Sponsored by FlytrapStore.com

Discuss Pinguicula care here

Moderator: Matt

By mhal408
hi, this is my first time getting a pinguicula, i am an amateur, i have vft, nepenthes, drosera in my care and those are still alive, but this ping just came about 2 days ago with about 3-4 days in shipping it came bareroot with a bit of lfs surrounding the roots, i think they use paper towel to wrap it and ziplock it. so yesterday it looks like this, its like it slowly rotting. i know about shipping stress but the thing is even the center small leaf seems to be blackened :cry: Image. any advice? thanks in advance

Michael
Attachments:
when it arrived
when it arrived
IMG_20200922_181017630~2.jpg (114.45 KiB) Viewed 11567 times
yesterday about 2 days since it came
yesterday about 2 days since it came
IMG_20200924_165300714~2.jpg (153.87 KiB) Viewed 11567 times
By Mallowallow
Hey! i also have a p. primuliflora! it was also my first carnivorous plant. Mine did take a lot of trial an error because these guys are a little picky. One big thing that ive noticed a lot of primuliflora owners dont realize is these guys LOVE water. like drown these boys theyll thank you. I have my guy in a peat/sand/pearlite mix and i constantly have it standing in 3/4 in of water. they also like bright indirect light not direct sun. Mine took a month of recovery once i figured out what he liked. the bag method was a godsend for me. sorry for the scattered advice but these guys can bounce back really well!Image

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
By Apollyon