FlytrapCare Carnivorous Plant Forums

Sponsored by FlytrapStore.com

Discuss Drosera, Byblis, and Drosophyllum plant care here

Moderator: Matt

By Oliverben17
Hi,
I’m new to keeping carnivorous plants and this is my first attempt. I set up an indoor terrarium and planted it recently, but some of the sundews have a few crispy leaves and seem to be producing less dew. Is this just it acclimating to its new environment or is something wrong? They are under an artificial light for ~16 hours a day, humidity is 60-80% normally around 70, I mist twice a day with rainwater. Thanks!
405A9EAD-28DD-4482-8842-DDD7848B9AE1.jpeg
405A9EAD-28DD-4482-8842-DDD7848B9AE1.jpeg (3.53 MiB) Viewed 2900 times
E999299D-6E8C-40BF-966B-49E17D59F9BC.jpeg
E999299D-6E8C-40BF-966B-49E17D59F9BC.jpeg (3.38 MiB) Viewed 2900 times
By Panman
It can take a month or more for the sundew to acclimate itself to a new environment and become dewy. The thing to watch for is the new growth. As it starts putting out new leaves, they should look healthy and have dew. If not, then it is time to start looking at conditions such as light, water, and humidity. I had some capes in full on Georgia sun and they did not like it. The leaves looked okay but they would not develop dew. Once I moved them to a more shaded location, they dewed up nicely.
By Oliverben17
Ok, thanks for replying so quickly. I hope im just being a little paranoid but as I havent kept these before I wanted to make sure. They've only been planted for about a week so hopefully theyll adjust to their new home soon and Ill see some healthy growth
By sanguinearocks101
I highly doubt that your terrarium will do well in the long run, you mixed together temperate and tropical/subtropical plants. Temperate plants either require constant feeding and fertilizing or a dormancy. I would take the sarracenia and vft out as they require a dormancy, I think cephalotus require a dormancy but I’m not sure.
By Oliverben17