FlytrapCare Carnivorous Plant Forums

Sponsored by FlytrapStore.com

Say hello and tell everyone a bit about yourself.

Moderator: Matt

By lilshophorror
Hello,

I am new to the carnivorous plant family. My brother actually got me into them since March of this year. When the pandemic started he started growing some cooking herbs and needed something to keep the flys away. He was telling me about finding some venus fly traps and I also needed some entertainment so I thought "Of course!!" I have always been drawn to them since the movie Little Shops of Horror. I did buy one back then but I was young and did not know how to take care of them until now. So here I am...

I currently have 4 flytraps, 4 pitcher plants, and 4 sundews.

I have to say that my favorites are my flytraps!! I rescued 4 from the local home improvement store and gave 2 to my brother. But the 2 that I kept have turned out amazing!! I actually split 1 since the leaves were so close together and no more would fit and ended up with 2 more. 1 is till a baby but it's starting to grow!! I also purchased a red dragon flytrap and it is absolutely beautiful as well. So I actually have a total of 5 counting the tiny baby one.

I have been working on my pitcher plants and sundews since those were the last ones I have purchased. Struggling some with these but some are starting to come around.

I have 4 different nepenthes. The one that has been great was my first purchase that is my Nepenthes Ventrata. This one came with 2 pitchers already on the plant and 1 that was growing, to having 3 full pitchers and now 3 more coming! I also have a Nepenthes Diana, and two types of Nepenthes Ventricosa (Denver x AG3) and (Denver x (k)). These are struggling. Or I'm struggling with them. I'm not sure where I'm going wrong with these but I am not giving up on them.