FlytrapCare Carnivorous Plant Forums

Sponsored by FlytrapStore.com

Moderator: Matt

By Jessy2363
Hi, I'm an absolute beginner with TC. I've spent the past week or so reading about it and trying to gather up everything I need to begin.
So I've read it's best to have a vent in the vessel to allow for gas exchange whilst obviously keeping the bad guys out. I'm thinking about using erlenmeyer flasks with a rubber/silicon bung in the top and drill a hole in it and stuff it densely with cotton wool. Will this work to keep the nasty microbes and fungi out? Has anyone else done this? I know I need something that can filter down to 0.2um or is that a bit over the top?
I want to be able to reuse my vessels over and over hence wanting to use pyrex glass or baby food jars or something that is glass. But this whole vent hole thing has be a bit bamboozled. Any ideas? please :)

I found some little round adhesive discs but they are very expensive. Like $1 each, and also I doubt they'd stick that good to a rubber bung although I'm unsure. Maybe I just bite the bullet and buy those. Any cool hacks any knows of in regards to vents in vessels that they wanna share?

I did a search on this forum and haven't managed to find a lot of information on this topic, unless I've missed it.
Jess
By Matt
Jessy2363 wrote:So I've read it's best to have a vent in the vessel to allow for gas exchange whilst obviously keeping the bad guys out.
I have read this as well but have never done it and the plants I TC do fine. The risk of contamination is too great with everything I've tried when allowing air to flow.

Start simple and with the idea of keeping clean cultures. If they don't grow well for you without good air exchange, adjust then. But my guess is that they will grow fine even doubly sealed to keep the "nasties" out of the cultures.
By Jessy2363