FlytrapCare Carnivorous Plant Forums

Sponsored by FlytrapStore.com

Ask questions about how to grow and care for Venus Flytraps

Moderator: Matt

By Avery Leatherwood
Hey all!
So i am a beginner to growing vfts from seed, i have grown plants successfully before, but this is my first time growing them from seed. I got my seeds fresh from a well known seller (so i know these are not fake ebay type seeds) and i planted them in pure peat (i understand its better with silica or perlite mixed in, but i couldn't seem to find any in time).

Today is their sixth day being planted (or rather scattered on the surface) and today i noticed some fungal growth on multiple seeds. It appears to be two types: one (the most widespread) a white fuzz on the pointed part of the seeds (has affected about 7 out of 30), and the other a sort of grayish tower sticking out of the peat in random spots (about 3 points where this has happened). I have no idea what i should do, i have taken there lid off (though i was fanning them about three times a day) to decrease humidity hoping to get rid of it like that, but i can't seem to find anything online as to what i should do (only what i should've done at the beginning). Any thoughts!

I can give more detailed information after if needed, thanks in advance!
By ChefDean
Pics would help.
That being said, I've never had a problem with the gray fuzz as long as it's light. If it gets heavy, then I'd worry. You can try a gentle top misting to knock it down, then keep some good airflow to prevent its recurrence. (Sounds like you're already on that) Some people also suggest a thin layer (1/8th inch or less) of inert sand to help protect against mold, fungus, and algae.
The white fuzz at the pointy end of the seed, are you sure it's fuzz? The pointy end shows white right about the time of germination. VFT seeds usually take at least a couple of weeks to germinate, but six days in not unheard of if they are very fresh.