FlytrapCare Carnivorous Plant Forums

Sponsored by FlytrapStore.com

Discussions about anything related to Venus Flytraps, cultivars and named clones

Moderator: Matt

By Rudy1776
Howdy everyone!

I currently grow all of my CP's outside on my South facing apartment balcony. My plants are doing well, but I am becoming interested in trying my hand at growing some flytraps and other CP's indoors using proper lighting, etc. I really want to try this to have a more controlled environment for seedlings, more sensitive plants and so forth. However, I have no experience with indoor setups and I was wondering if any of you fine individuals might have some ideas I could use! :)

I live in a small apartment but the spot I have planned in my living room would allow for a rack/lights that could be about 2 x 2 ft in width and length and 3-5 ft in height. There is some wiggle room in the dimensions, but anything drastic would not look too nice haha. Does anyone have a similar setup they're willing to share or have any suggestions for this, especially a light? I would greatly appreciate it!

Thanks in advance!
By FunkeePanda
@Rudy1776,

https://www.flytrapcare.com/venus-fly-trap-light

Up top is a link going in depth on the lighting. Amazon has plenty of 2ft but the 4ft options are cheaper for some reason?...

I'm trying my hand at indoor, and got my rack from Home Depot. I'm sure amazon has racking better suited towards your needs though. My set up looks jimmy rigged, and maybe you're going for a more stylistic look that will fit your apt.. That's why I say Amazon should be able to cover all your needs on that front, and the link that can cover all your lighting needs for your plant can also be reached by clicking "FlytrapCare.com" straight up top. Then click the first link in the lighting section of the article.