FlytrapCare Carnivorous Plant Forums

Sponsored by FlytrapStore.com

Talk about your orchids and share photos of them here

Moderator: Matt

By Ayla
Hi everyone. I have a question about how much of a temp. drop can orchids handle? I'm not entirely new to growing orchids, but this is the first year having any again after a gap of about 12yrs and the first time in my current living situation. I do not have central heating in this house. I do have very good space heaters and a humidifier. I live far in se tx and we basically have summer and winter in the same week. It's quite literally the only 2 seasons we have. It went from 100 degrees outside to the 40s for a couple days. Its warmed up to a low of 60 and a high 70s durring the day and is projected to be so for about a week. I have 3 orchids atm and this is my first year to have CPs. My orchids are not blooming right now but are in the growing stage. They all grew a few new leaves and are all now growing new stems. Nice users here directed me to a good growing light for my CPs, which I presume my orchids will also benefit from. I wont be able to get a growing light until payday. So until them I am quite worried about stressing/shocking my plants. Which are all in my west facing window and surrounding countertop. If anyone knows how much of a sudden temp change my orchids can withstand and what signs of stress/shock to watch out for, please let me know. Thank everyone very much.
By Ayla
Oh, I'm sorry. I completely forgot. One is a Doritaenopsis, one is a Phal. And the other was just labeled "miniature orchid". Wether that's really a thing or not, I'm not sure. I was under the impression that it was just an immature version of a regular phal orchid and just labeled as such so it'd be cute and people would buy it. It was a gift. Again - Thank you all.
By SundewWolf