FlytrapCare Carnivorous Plant Forums

Sponsored by FlytrapStore.com

Discuss Pinguicula care here

Moderator: Matt

By sanguinearocks101
Hello, I am new to pinguicula and have become interested in them. I am looking for a low-cost, easy to take care of, hardy plant. I would like one that does not have to go through the dormant/succulent phase but it is not necessary. I also want one that can grow in an easy soil mix(any combination of peat moss, lfsm, perlite, silica sand) Thank you!
By Huntsmanshorn
I'm not very fond of crosses so I will stick to non-crosses. My favorite unkillable Mexican Pings that don't need a succulent phase are agnata and gigantea, you could also try P. primuliflora, although I find it to be a bit more picky, if you would prefer to try a warm temperate species or you think it would be more likely to do well in your conditions. There are others that would also work for you but, under my conditions, these three are gold esp. agnata.
By twitcher
I second Huntsmanshorn recommendation for agnata and primuliflora. Unfortunately I have great skill in killing gigantea, so cannot advocate for that one. But many of the mexican pings are very easy.
By Huntsmanshorn
twitcher wrote: Tue Feb 25, 2020 4:15 am I second Huntsmanshorn recommendation for agnata and primuliflora. Unfortunately I have great skill in killing gigantea, so cannot advocate for that one. But many of the mexican pings are very easy.
Yup, I killed my share of gigantea too, until I figured out they like/need a bit more light than some of my other pings, now they are a seemingly an unstoppable tide.
By jeff
try the temperate like grandiflora,vulgaris , etc they are quite robust, they can all stay outside all year round, with a very simple substrate like blond peat, that is enough for them, on the other hand they like to have a substrate always moist and even soaked

you can try also emarginata in a terra this plant is fairly flowering all year round