FlytrapCare Carnivorous Plant Forums

Sponsored by FlytrapStore.com

Ask questions about how to grow and care for Venus Flytraps

Moderator: Matt

By anansi
Hello, I’m new to this hobby and I’m trying to learn as much as I can to properly grow my VFTs. Hope you could help me with my questions below.

As a background, I live in the Philippines which is a tropical country and I learned that I should respect the dormancy of VFTs. Just wondering:

1. Will VFTs become dormant in tropical countries without my intervention?

2. I read from Savage Garden that one way to make CPs dormant in tropical countries is by uprooting the plant, placing it in a plastic bag, and refrigerate it during winter. Have anyone tried this method?

Thanks in advance!

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
By Huntsmanshorn
anansi wrote:

2. I read from Savage Garden that one way to make CPs dormant in tropical countries is by uprooting the plant, placing it in a plastic bag, and refrigerate it during winter. Have anyone tried this method?

Thanks in advance!
1. Not usually.
2. Yes, it works but keep an eye on things to avoid mold.
By anansi
Huntsmanshorn wrote:
anansi wrote:

Thanks in advance!
1. Not usually.
2. Yes, it works but keep an eye on things to avoid mold.

Thank you for the answers. By any chance, do you also reside in a tropical country? If yes, any tips on how to help VFTs go dormant aside from the refrigeration method?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
By Huntsmanshorn
anansi wrote: Thank you for the answers. By any chance, do you also reside in a tropical country? If yes, any tips on how to help VFTs go dormant aside from the refrigeration method?
Nope, sorry, I live in decidedly not tropical country.
By tommyr