FlytrapCare Carnivorous Plant Forums

Sponsored by FlytrapStore.com

Discuss Drosera, Byblis, and Drosophyllum plant care here

Moderator: Matt

By Sundews
First off sorry guys if I have been only asking questions but helping not helping to answer other peoples questions. I'm still new at this and don't want to give bad advice. So here's my set up . I have my sundews growing in a tray along side sphagnum moss. I like to grow them together because the sphagnum produces the soil that the sundews flourish in. The tray is in a South facing Window with a 6500k t5 ho light that runs 8hours a day. I'm in ohio btw.

So from the beginning the plants weren't doing vary well . I use rain water with 8 ppms and ro water with 100ppms. With about 4inches of sphagnum moss for the plants to grow in.
So what I'm looking towards having is lush thick moss with healthy strong plants producing tons of dew with lots of colors. I'm guessing most of you want the same thing so if any of you have experience towards this kinda growing it would be greatly appreciated. Here's some links what's your opinion on these.
.https://www.carnivorousplants.org/grow/ ... /terrarium
https://sarracenia.com/faq/faq6010c.html
By jpappy789
What is the source of RO water that you are using (e.g. purchased from store, your own filter, etc.)? 100 ppm is really high for RO water and that may be at least part of the issue of why the plants weren't doing well. It's usually recommended to stay <50 ppm for more mineral-sensitive CPs like sundews.

As for the terrariums, which species are you trying to grow? I am personally not a huge fan because I think they mostly just get in the way. In my experience, most Drosera do not need that high of humidity unless your living situation has your ambient humidity <30% or so. And having a lot of moss around will help keep the humidity directly around the plants a bit higher than what's in the room.