FlytrapCare Carnivorous Plant Forums

Sponsored by FlytrapStore.com

Ask questions about how to grow and care for Venus Flytraps

Moderator: Matt

By DiogoQ
Hi all,

I'm new to this hobby but have been reading loads about these plants and recently about dormancy.
I live in The Netherlands where the climate is actually good for VFT outdoors dormancy. My main problem is that i live on an apartment with no balcony. I have basement storage room but i'm not sure if the conditions are ideal there for this, plus the lighting could be a problem.

So... since i'm an electronics enthusiast and hobbyist i decided to create my own dormancy contraption. I have read about avoiding fridge dormancy but i would like to share my idea/approach and get your feedback on if it can be reliable.

My idea is to create a mini cooler box with temps between (5 - 10 C / 40 - 50 F), they can even vary throughout the day like it would naturally outdoors.
Also, the box would have an acrylic front and top covers so the plants can have sun all day. My window is west sided.

You guys think this would work? The idea is just to throw the pots in and that's it. Are there any extra cares i should take to make this project more reliable and safe for the plants? THANKS!!

I'm more than happy to share the final mini cooler and results here. :)
By SundewWolf
Sounds like it should work fine. If they are kept between 35-40*F they don't need any light at all. In true dormancy the rate of photosynthesis slows down to the point where they don't really utilize much light anyways. I keep mine in the garage over the winter currently until I build a greenhouse and I let them get light until the temps start dropping below 45F. Then they are just in pure darkness for 2-3 months until I make it warm enough for them to start growing again.

I also have a juniper and a pine tree I stick in my garage in the winter and they don't get any light at all. Never has affected them.
SundewWolf liked this
By DiogoQ