FlytrapCare Carnivorous Plant Forums

Sponsored by FlytrapStore.com

Discuss any carnivorous plant that doesn't fit in the above categories here or general chat about carnivorous plants

Moderator: Matt

By Matt
The fastest growing carnivorous plant, huh? I'm not sure. I know the Drosera seeds (sundews) that I've planted grow pretty quickly, but I'd definitely not consider them fast growers. I have no experience with bladderworts.
By lemonlily
I don't actually know but... Actually I don't have anything to say. :oops:
By Pat
I would say that drossera Capensis would be the fastest growinp carnivorous plant from seed. You can have a mature flowering plant in a year or two.
Ahoy!
Right, we all know it's worth it to wait for a trap (or any plant) to grow at it's own pace,
But man is an haist-full creature..
So to get your plants form seed to chomping, we need to give it all the abnormal "thrust" man can possibly create.
first, I know it sound killer, but 20 hours min. light a day. You can burn the plant for 24 hours, but weird things happen,(growth patterns, don't ask..)
Any bright white light will do, but incandesant lights get really hot. Neon is the best, But HID rules.
So keep them seeds wet and vented.
And in about a 1/3 of the time you will have hordes blood thirsty plants.
Do note that plants need darkness in the long-run, but 2 hours will do.
Plants get "addicted" to this intense light method, so it's best to keep on giving them what they want.
I have successfully "rehabilitated" a trap before, but it is quite a mission!
Hope it help for those who can't wait...
By Adam
Anrich,

Thanks for you post. I've been spoiling my plants with a good light. I'm going to take advice from a few others here and apply a fungicide. However, I'm not sure if that will take care of what I think is mildew on some of my seedlings. Let me know what you think.

Adam
Attachments:
IMG_4063.JPG
IMG_4063.JPG (73.22 KiB) Viewed 11139 times
By WORMSS