FlytrapCare Carnivorous Plant Forums

Sponsored by FlytrapStore.com

Discussions on how to propagate your plants sexually and asexually, by seed, natural division or leaf pulling

Moderator: Matt

By CpKid
Hello Everyone,
So, I'm pretty new to Mexican butterworts, and was wondering if and how I could take leaf cuttings from non-dormant P. Moranensis. Could I just pull some of and put them on peat or some other substance? Also, sorry for the dumb question, but could P. Moranensis do ok in typical cp mix, as I don't have any other soil ingredients.
Thanks all!
By ChefDean
I, too, am brand new to Mexican pings, having just received my first one from hollyhock recently. However, in transit, one leaf fell off and I put it with the broken end just barely under the surface of the media. Much to my surprise, seeing as how I'm a complete novice with pings, I now have two strikes coming up from it. Knock yourself out, good luck.
Last edited by ChefDean on Sat Feb 09, 2019 12:43 am, edited 1 time in total.
ChefDean liked this
By CpKid
Thanks for this info! I think I'll try that with a leaf or two. How long did it take for the first sprout to pop up?
By ChefDean
Both strikes came up about the same time. I received Pinguin (my daughters name for it) on December 13, 2018, and noticed the strikes about 2 weeks ago, so about 4 to 5 weeks for them to show.
I have mine in a mix of 3:3:1 mix of perlite, vermiculite, and peat, not regular cp mix, and she's doing great. It helps that Hollyhock takes really good care of her plants.
By CpKid
Thanks! That's pretty fast compared to some other cp's I've started from cuttings. I may be able to mix up a Mexican ping soil concoction with some sand & peat. I also have a bit of orchid bark, do you think that would be ok to lighten the soil?
By ChefDean