FlytrapCare Carnivorous Plant Forums

Sponsored by FlytrapStore.com

Discuss any carnivorous plant that doesn't fit in the above categories here or general chat about carnivorous plants

Moderator: Matt

By Bradley_D
So in December I was lucky enough to pick up a cephalotus. I love these evil little thumbs and I want more. Problem is they’re expensive in general and even more so for me since buying from Europe or USA, converted in to South African rands, makes a very poor Brad.

So I’m attempting to grow some more from leaf, pitcher and crown cuttings.
I’ve planted 3 pots to try get the best success rate since I’ve never done this before and I’ve read it can take up to 9 months before I see any results. I don’t want to wait 9 months to find out I failed, then have to start over. So here goes.

Pot 1 has a mix of 50:50 peat and LECA. This contains one leaf and one pitcher.

Pot 2 has a mix of 50:50 peat and LECA as well. This pot contains 1 leaf blade and a small crown that was easily separated without unpotting. Lucky me, it even had some roots which looked nice and white :)

Pot 3 has a mix of 50:25:25 Peat, LECA and fine decorative gravel. This gravel is bigger than sand but I had no sand so I thought I’d give it a go. This pot contains only one single leaf blade.

They’ve been water all over and drained for a few minutes then sealed in a clear plastic Ziploc bag. (These were handy because they have a place to write comments and date on). I’ve read that this can take 1-9 months. I’m hoping for the former. I’ll update as I see progress.
I’ve left the bags on my shelf under my awning. I figure it’s a great place since over the course of the day, sun comes right under the awning but never quite reaches the shelf so it’s nice and bright, without and direct sun.

Wish me luck

My source of information came from
https://www.carnivorousplants.org/grow/ ... Cephalotus
Attachments:
187CB9F0-458D-4345-9147-4594B0673925.jpeg (1.45 MiB) Viewed 2266 times
Pot 3
Pot 3