FlytrapCare Carnivorous Plant Forums

Sponsored by FlytrapStore.com

Discuss Sarracenia, Heliamphora, Darlingtonia, Cephalotus plant care here

Moderator: Matt

By CpKid
Hi all
So, I have 4 bare root Sarracenia rhizomes in the mail from California Carnivores, and my question is: Should I plant them now under grow lights, or wait until March/ April to put them outside when it warms up?
Thanks in advance,
CpKid
By PitcherPerfect
I too recently got an order of mystery Sarrs. I’m kinda new to CPs, if this info isn’t good, please someone more experienced chime in. I went ahead & planted mine & have them outside. My thinking is since I don’t have the fridge space to keep them cool, outside in the ground is the next best place (cool temps & access to sunlight). My hope is that they will maintain dormancy & enter growing season as light & temps increase.

I’m in Oregon & we have pretty mild winters in the area I live. I could see that not being a good option depending on your location.

I hope that helps some and all the best for a happy growing season. :D
Attachments:
Pool of mystery Sarrs.
Pool of mystery Sarrs.
381DFAF9-E1FD-4901-9C1D-27B42018FE79.jpeg (1.25 MiB) Viewed 4377 times
PitcherPerfect liked this
By CpKid
Thanks! I was just worried about putting mine outside right now, I live in MI, so we get some wild temps. I'll probably just put them outside, and watch the forecast for cold days.
By CpKid
Also, does anyone have any opinions on Sarracenias in 25-32 degree weather? Would it rot the rhizomes?
Thanks!
By SundewWolf
Do you have a garage or shed? They will handle 25-32 degrees no problem given the some protection. I have heating cables in the bottoms of plastic storage containers in my garage in case it gets super cold, but so far this winter I haven't turned them on. They are obviously insulated from windchill in my set up, but being unheated they have been going through 40*F - 25*F on average.