FlytrapCare Carnivorous Plant Forums

Sponsored by FlytrapStore.com

Share photos of your Venus Fly Traps here.

Moderator: Matt

By VenusNomNom
Hey Everyone,

I am very new to the CP hobby and want to create a grow box with timed LED bulbs to keep my plants happy during the winters here in America in the north east. Can I get a consensus on what LED grow bulbs work best for VFT, pitcher and sundew plants? I would like to mature the plants I currently have and grow some new species from seeds.

Thanks for any help you can provide!
VNN :D
By Doublebass1985
Well here is my current LED setup and it works great! It depends on how many plants you have and what's your budget? You may only need a few bulbs or maybe you want to invest in a Mars hydro. Whichever way you decide to go it should work out nicely for you. The bulbs I use are Walmart led grow bulbs/Felt electric led bulb facing downward and General electric 5K a few 2.7K led bulbs that are horizontally placed. My setup is a little bit extreme so don't think you need as many bulbs as what I'm using lol I went a Lil overboard.
Attachments:
IMAG0370.jpg
IMAG0370.jpg (1.27 MiB) Viewed 4406 times
IMAG0369.jpg
IMAG0369.jpg (1.27 MiB) Viewed 4406 times
By VenusNomNom
Wow! Yeah that one is a bit extreme for me, I have a Nepenthes and a VFT that I bought over the summer and they survived through the summer with flying colors. So rather than attempt to purchase more next summer I would prefer to nurse these plants through the winter in a grow box with timed lighting in my basement. While nursing them, I would like to add new plants to grow such as fancy purple pitchers and a few sundew plants as well. I live in an older home built in the 30's and I wanted to create a timed LED grow box that would provider the light and warmth these beautys need to survive, without sucking too much energy through my old electric system.
By SundewWolf