FlytrapCare Carnivorous Plant Forums

Sponsored by FlytrapStore.com

Discuss Nepenthes plant care here

Moderator: Matt

By ckayte
I received an order today from petflytrap.com and one of the plants is pretty rough. I have emailed pics to the company but, in the meantime, I would greatly appreciate advice of what to do to help this plant. I paid $100 for it, this was sold to me as a Brunei Orange bicalcarata. Should I repot it? I am new to Nepenthes, I have read conflicting information but some sources said not to repot a plant shortly after shipping due to increased risk of shock. All of the plants arrived quite wet (not just damp.)

As you can see in the pic, several leaves had dead portions, including the tips, and one leaf appears to have been eaten by something. No pitchers were present on this plant or another plant in the order. All of the damage is old, surrounded by black and dried edges. How bad is this? Is it likely to live, considering that it also just went through shipping in addition to the condition that it was in prior to shipping?

Thanks!
Attachments:
bical 3.jpg
bical 3.jpg (3.75 MiB) Viewed 3993 times
By ckayte
A closer shot of the damage.
Attachments:
bical 5.jpg
bical 5.jpg (512.94 KiB) Viewed 3989 times
By ckayte
Apparently, the photo on the website was NOT this plant (even though they listed this as the last one available.)
By Jeeper
Many companies have stock photos they use unless it specifically says it's a photo of the plant you will receive consider it a stock photo.

Unfortunately unless they decided to refund you, you're probably stuck with it. If it's green and growing and has a green growth point I'd just let it do it's thing, it will grow new leaves and old leaves will eventually die.
By hollyhock