FlytrapCare Carnivorous Plant Forums

Sponsored by FlytrapStore.com

Discuss Drosera, Byblis, and Drosophyllum plant care here

Moderator: Matt

By Boarden
So here's what my setup for growing Drosera looks like. I grow them indoors under an artificial light, no terrarium. If you have any advice for me I'd appreciate it. I'm still relatively new to Drosera and CPs in general.

I'm growing them on my dryer, got an LED square light above, white cool light. The light is about 50-55 cm above the plants, maybe I should move it closer?

Here are some of my D. Capensis, I recently repotted them from their original pot. They were grown from seeds from a friend's D. Capensis. They're very green with almost no red coloration. Also very little dew on a majority of them. I'm assuming it's shock and adaptation to new pots, but if anyone has advice on how I could get my Capensis "redder" and "dewier" I'd highly appreciate it. I feed them dried bloodworms once a month. A couple also have flower stalks which I decided to keep instead of cutting.

I have a pretty severe aphid problem in a couple of my pots, I try to clean and remove the bugs mechanically with my fingers and a brush, but they always come back! I'm considering insecticides but I fear that it might do more damage to my plants than the aphids themselves. They can be seen in these pictures pretty clearly.

Here I'm trying to germinate a couple of seeds, D. Capensis Alba and D. Venusta. The seeds were sown about 2 months ago.

And here's my pot with a couple of young D. Aliciae. These are around 7 - 8 months old. Grown from seeds. Again, like my Capensis, I wish they were "redder" and had more dew.

That's it for my small setup. I've been having a lot of fun growing these guys the last year and a half :D. I will definitely keep growing these and I think I've found a life long hobby.

If you have any tips please send them my way. Thank you for reading.
By bananaman