FlytrapCare Carnivorous Plant Forums

Sponsored by FlytrapStore.com

Discuss Sarracenia, Heliamphora, Darlingtonia, Cephalotus plant care here

Moderator: Matt

By Duckingstan
Hello everyone,

I am pretty new to even plant growth. So, You guys can understand the struggle I am having looking after one.

The whole idea of me looking after a Venus flytrap was because of a Biology project. I was going test its reflection time and compare it with a human hand. But my teachers have told me that this wouldn't work. Now that this idea is passed I still would like to do a project with the plant, and I am aware of those related to nervous system. They did not get accepted too.

What I have in mind as new is that to buy a second one and give (by that I mean to put it on a proper soil) it nutrients and test if it is still functioning on its traps or maybe even slower functioning. The idea is to see if the function of traps is related to the nutrients. But then I found out that it actually dissolves the roots of the plant.

My question is that “Is there any way that this idea works? and second “If not, do you guys have any recommendations?”

I am already thankful for your answers! :) :D :D
By carelerasmus
Duckingstan wrote:Hello everyone,

I am pretty new to even plant growth. So, You guys can understand the struggle I am having looking after one.

The whole idea of me looking after a Venus flytrap was because of a Biology project. I was going test its reflection time and compare it with a human hand. But my teachers have told me that this wouldn't work. Now that this idea is passed I still would like to do a project with the plant, and I am aware of those related to nervous system. They did not get accepted too.