FlytrapCare Carnivorous Plant Forums

Sponsored by FlytrapStore.com

Have excess seed? Share it with other members here.

Moderator: Matt

By AnitaB
Not sure exactly what I want as I am new to VFT's so I'll leave it up to you ...Something easy to grow . I tried last year but no sprouts. I'm looking forward to trying again as I've had n interest in carnivorous plants for some time. Hope tp hear from you soon. :)
By Shadowtski
AnitaB wrote:Not sure exactly what I want as I am new to VFT's so I'll leave it up to you ...Something easy to grow . I tried last year but no sprouts. I'm looking forward to trying again as I've had n interest in carnivorous plants for some time. Hope tp hear from you soon. :)
Hi,
Welcome to the Forum and welcome to the seed bank.
Would you like to try some Drosera capensis?
It's an easy to grow Sundew.
It grows year-round at normal room temperatures, it's classified as a Sub-Tropical plant.
It does not require any treatment for the seeds to sprout.
It does not require a period of dormancy.

Here is a website with good information on growing Sundews: http://www.growsundews.com
Here is a link to our Seed Bank: flytrapcare-community-seedbank-inventory-t33352.html

If Drosera capensis looks good to you, let me know.

Good growing,
Mike
By boarderlib
While I generally won't recommend starting by growing from seed. If you are dead set on it, start with some drosera like capensis, spatulata/tokaiensis, natalensis (all should grow good year round). I have personally started leaning more to temperate stuff capillaris, intermedia, and my personal favorite filiformis at least for drosera.

Starting with drosera from seed will reward you far quicker than starting seed from VFT, sarracenia, or any of the other genus just because of length of time it takes to get a mature flowering plant. I've personally grown drosera from seed and had them flower in 4 months (spatulata). On average it takes a VFT or sarracenia two years to flower from seed.