FlytrapCare Carnivorous Plant Forums

Sponsored by FlytrapStore.com

Talk about your orchids and share photos of them here

Moderator: Matt

By KategoricalKarnivore
Ok so I have no orchid experience. I got 2 as impulse buys at Walmart. They are growing well but I have a question.

My small one is sending up a flower spike but it still has the old spike from when I bought it. It is still green and alive. Should I cut the old one or leave it? Will it bloom again from the old one even though a new one is growing?

Thanks for any help y'all.
Attachments:
IMG_0927.JPG
IMG_0927.JPG (412.45 KiB) Viewed 5272 times
IMG_0928.JPG
IMG_0928.JPG (508.77 KiB) Viewed 5272 times
By Sakaaaaa
I cut flower stalks only when they're yellow, wrinkled, and dry. Yes, sometimes an old stalk can bloom while another new stalk is blooming. One phal I know created a spike, bloomed on a new, and bloomed on an old stalk at the same time.
Sakaaaaa liked this
By xr280xr
I agree. It will probably grow a branch from one of the dormant buds on the spike. Their willingness to do this varies from plant to plant. One of my orchids refuses to keep a spike. As soon as its done blooming, the spike immediately dies off, which has made it very difficult to propagate.
xr280xr liked this
By KategoricalKarnivore
xr280xr wrote: As soon as its done blooming, the spike immediately dies off, which has made it very difficult to propagate.
Again, no experience here, but what do you mean it's hard to propagate because it dies off? Can you get more plants from the spike like cutting VFT spikes and planting?
By xr280xr
KategoricalKarnivore wrote:Again, no experience here, but what do you mean it's hard to propagate because it dies off? Can you get more plants from the spike like cutting VFT spikes and planting?