FlytrapCare Carnivorous Plant Forums

Sponsored by FlytrapStore.com

Discuss any carnivorous plant that doesn't fit in the above categories here or general chat about carnivorous plants

Moderator: Matt

By Frothy_Milk
Hello,

Would it not be recommended for a "new" cp owner to grow from seed? I have been growing some VFT, sarracenia, and drosera for a couple months now. I would like to grow some tropical Drosera from seed. I am up for the challenge, but would like to know if it requires a bit more experience.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
By Wikiwakawakawee
I think you should be fine yo, even if you don't succeed on your first try, you'll know what to do next time you give it a tryImage I'd start off with some easy species like drosera capensis (I'm actually growing my first ones right now!)

It's pretty neat seeing them grow from a tiny spec to the wonderful plants they are.ImageImage

Sent from my SM-G928T using Tapatalk
By erikHIplants
Tropical drosera can be relatively easy to grow from seed. I would recommend capensis, spatulata, burmanii (probably my favorite) to grow from seed. My first ever experience with cps was germinating spatulata from seed. Just my two cents
By Shadowtski
Frothy_Milk wrote:Hello,

Would it not be recommended for a "new" cp owner to grow from seed? I have been growing some VFT, sarracenia, and drosera for a couple months now. I would like to grow some tropical Drosera from seed. I am up for the challenge, but would like to know if it requires a bit more experience.

If you want seed, get it from the FTC Seedbank. There's no charge.