FlytrapCare Carnivorous Plant Forums

Sponsored by FlytrapStore.com

Discuss any carnivorous plant that doesn't fit in the above categories here or general chat about carnivorous plants

Moderator: Matt

By bijillon
I just bought some *real* ( I did that just in case someone thought I got scammed) N. (mirabilis x raff) x Northiana. Any tips are welcome. This is what I'm growing them in. It's a cooking pan with a clear plastic top for humidity. The seeds were harvested on the 13th so we shall see if they work!uImage This is my first time with nepenthes seeds!

Happy Growing,

Dillon
By Shadowtski
I'd be carefull about putting acidic material in aluminum unless it's plastic lined. I'd suggest plastic, ceramic, or nonreactive metal for holding Sphagnum or Peat.

But I might be overly cautious. I have seen acidic food products (lasagna) eat through aluminum foil in a week.

Good growing,
Mike
By nimbulan
Metal trays aren't recommended, though I really don't know how much of a problem it might be. If you sowed the seeds already it's going to be difficult to move them into a different container though. I personally just pack LFS into regular pots and cover them. Since the pots drain, it prevents the LFS from staying too wet so I don't get any algae growth. I use a spray bottle to keep the seeds moist and a heating pad to make sure they have a good day/night temperature variation.

Good luck!
By boarderlib
Let me tell you from experience nothing will tick you off quicker than when you go to pick that pan up, and you're holding the pan but everything that was in the pan is on the floor. I used those once for a Sarr germination, and the bottom corroded out after about two months. Just in time for the seedlings to start sprouting.