FlytrapCare Carnivorous Plant Forums

Sponsored by FlytrapStore.com

Discuss Drosera, Byblis, and Drosophyllum plant care here

Moderator: Matt

By Fishman
I planted 2 seeds a couple months ago and have had them on "damp", not "wet" soil since sowing them. Still waiting for something to happen. Under my scope, im seeing this weird looking thing protruding from the seed. Is it some sort of fungi, or is it something else? I thought about blasting it with a dilute shot of peroxide, but wanted some opinions first as to what yall might think this is. I have zero experience with drosophyllum. If it is toast, then well i guess ill be looking for more seed lol.
Attachments:
WIN_20161231_23_33_27_Pro.jpg
WIN_20161231_23_33_27_Pro.jpg (104.27 KiB) Viewed 3867 times
By Fishman
Yeah thats kinda what i was thinking. Just never seen them up that close, but I just sprayed it off anyhow. I doubt the seed is any good now, but my hardheaded instinct says wait longer..
By nimbulan
I've had fungal growths like that sprout out of Nepenthes seeds which seemed to be an indication that the seed was dead. On larger seeds like this, it may just be fungus eating away at the seed coat and not harmful - I've had a Drosophyllum germinate and grow while the seed was completely covered in fuzzy mold.
By Fishman
nimbulan wrote:I've had fungal growths like that sprout out of Nepenthes seeds which seemed to be an indication that the seed was dead. On larger seeds like this, it may just be fungus eating away at the seed coat and not harmful - I've had a Drosophyllum germinate and grow while the seed was completely covered in fuzzy mold.