FlytrapCare Carnivorous Plant Forums

Sponsored by FlytrapStore.com

Discuss any carnivorous plant that doesn't fit in the above categories here or general chat about carnivorous plants

Moderator: Matt

By Beaver746
Hello,
I'm new to these plants so I kinda have no clue what I'm doing. I've done research but it's still hard to figure out what's wrong. I got my Drosera Spathulata a few weeks ago and two days ago it started to brown. Does anyone know why? Any help would be appreciated. Also it looks like it's seeding can I clip that off and plant it? Thanks for any help.

ImageImage

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
By Dematerialize
First off, get it off that pot. Clay is horrible for carnivorous plants as it leaches minerals into the soil, slowly killing them.

It looks like it isn't getting enough light as well. I'd say the humidity is a bit too low too, making the leaves dry even faster with the mix of low light. I'd move it to a plastic pot, eventually to a sunnier spot and make sure it gets a bit more humidity until it recovers.
Dematerialize liked this
By Beaver746
Dematerialize wrote:First off, get it off that pot. Clay is horrible for carnivorous plants as it leaches minerals into the soil, slowly killing them.

It looks like it isn't getting enough light as well. I'd say the humidity is a bit too low too, making the leaves dry even faster with the mix of low light. I'd move it to a plastic pot, eventually to a sunnier spot and make sure it gets a bit more humidity until it recovers.
Ok thank you for the advise. I followed all your advise and hopefully it will get better. Thanks again!

By Beaver746
Well I got it like a week ago so I watered it like twice. It's been in the 80s all weeks and it was outside most of the time. I heard they like to get dry then watered until it leaked from the bottom. What's the tray method? I've never heard of it.

By Beaver746
Oh wow that's really cool. Thank you for showing me that I'll have to try that.

By AaaaNinja