FlytrapCare Carnivorous Plant Forums

Sponsored by FlytrapStore.com

Discuss Nepenthes plant care here

Moderator: Matt

By Alex2893
I bought these two nepenthe's at my local nursery. I believe they are Nepenthes Ventrata. My first question is should I repot them into a better mix and a bigger pot? Also is a mix of LFSM mixed with perlite and pine bark be a good media? Im new to this. The shoot on plant two is falling over. Is that ok or should it be supported? I want to make sure I grow these as best I can?

(Plant 1)
Image20160528_101312 by Alex Littig, on Flickr
Image20160528_101323 by Alex Littig, on Flickr

(Plant 2)
Image20160528_101501 by Alex Littig, on Flickr
Image20160528_101513 by Alex Littig, on Flickr
By Alex2893
I repotted the smaller one with LFSM and perlite mixed with some bark. IT was potted in pure peat moss and it was like a brick. It was so so so hard to remove the peat moss. Im sure I broke a few roots and i could not even get all the peat moss out but I got most of it. Let me know if this was a good potting job and will It go into stress from the repot? The bigger one im going to find a larger pot im going to steak up the vine

Image20160528_205115 by Alex Littig, on Flickr
Image20160528_205100 by Alex Littig, on Flickr
By Alvin 415
Alex2893 wrote:IT was potted in pure peat moss and it was like a brick. It was so so so hard to remove the peat moss. Im sure I broke a few roots and i could not even get all the peat moss out but I got most of it. Let me know if this was a good potting job and will It go into stress from the repot?
It is easier to remove the soil if you saturate the peat with water, then use a gentle spray to rinse all the loose peat away.

Yes, it will be stressed from the repot, but it'll likely bounce back quickly.

FWIW, I left my N. ventrata growing in the original 100% peat for about 2 years.