FlytrapCare Carnivorous Plant Forums

Sponsored by FlytrapStore.com

Discuss Sarracenia, Heliamphora, Darlingtonia, Cephalotus plant care here

Moderator: Matt

By rwharold
Taken 2/1/16
Taken 2/1/16
DSC00099.JPG (31.3 KiB) Viewed 6272 times
I purchased a Cephalotus-Czech Giant Form- Large a month ago, and since it has lost 5 pitchers and I am not sure how it is progressing. It is growing on a direct sun facing windowsill under plant grow lights that are set to an on-off timer programmed to mimic local sunrise/sunset times. I mist it twice daily with distilled water and keep in a small saucer that I keep about a 1/2 inch of water in it and let it empty before re-filling. Attached is a current picture. I would appreciate your perception of the picture and any special care that I should be giving. :D
By hollyhock
First I am not a ceph expert....But I believe it is normal for your plant to lose pitchers as it acclimates to your environment. Most people bag their new plant and gradually open it to let it adjust. Since you have had it for a month it is probably not necessary to do that now. It looks healthy and from my personal experience cephs are very hardy plants... Good growing... :D
By rwharold
Thanks hollyhock,

I was looking for a Cephalotus "expert" that could give me more detailed care instructions. :D
By rwharold
Thanks, I do appreciate your comments. But, I do hope for additional replies with their own tips and suggestions. Take care!
By Leathal_Traps
I have over 20 cephs but I still don't consider myself an expert. I've grown many cephs on east facing windowsills and I've never misted them. Just as hollyhock said pitcher die off is common especially when a cephalotus is adjusting to conditions with lower humidity. Good luck!
Leathal_Traps liked this
By rehrlich