FlytrapCare Carnivorous Plant Forums

Sponsored by FlytrapStore.com

Post here to sell, trade or list your wants if you live in the US

Moderator: Matt

By Mrs H
Hi everyone!

I am a science teacher in South-central Nebraska and my students LOVE the idea to growing VFTs or other carnivorous plants. However with $1mil lost in state aid this year and a projected $0 in state aid next year I am looking for a very inexpensive (or free) source for seeds. If anyone can help us out, I would greatly appreciate it!!!

Thanks in advance!

Mrs. H
By Mrs H
Chipi3s wrote:http://www.revenue.nebraska.gov/researc ... ckolls.pdf

Hmmmmmm...

Chipi3s, not in Nuckolls, Furnas http://www.revenue.nebraska.gov/researc ... furnas.pdf. I know we are getting local aid - didn't say we weren't. I also didn't say we were the only school that would be getting $0 from the state next year - some schools have been dealing with that for a while.

I just wanted to state why I was asking for free as a newbie on the site. I did purchase some seeds (from amazon :( because I was told to find the cheapest deal), but when word got around the school that my 7th grade class would be trying to grow VFTs from seed I got inundated with "I want to buy one" from every 7-12 grader. The little money I make off of this will go towards supplies for keeping some VFTs, so that I can raise my own future seed, planting supplies, and I plan to pay the kindness forward whenever possible.
Mrs H liked this
By SerMuncherIV
Growing Dionaea from seed is a long process that takes many years to get mature plants. You might be better off just acquiring cheap tissue-cultured plants, provided that proper conditions can be provided (otherwise the experience will likely be short-lived and disappointing). Might I suggest trying to go for a faster-growing and less demanding carnivore, like Drosera capensis?
SerMuncherIV liked this
By Mrs H