FlytrapCare Carnivorous Plant Forums

Sponsored by FlytrapStore.com

Discuss Sarracenia, Heliamphora, Darlingtonia, Cephalotus plant care here

Moderator: Matt

By ps3isawesome
I'm not sure what's going on. Nothing has changed, humidity has stayed relatively the same. I did turn on a new fan but the humidity monitor shows it's always around 80-95%

This is what the plant looked like on June 12th 2015

BUT, i don't i'm wrong when i say this plant looks like it's drying out. What do i do? Help please and thank you!

Last edited by ps3isawesome on Wed Jul 01, 2015 9:49 pm, edited 1 time in total.
By David F
I'm not an expert of diagnosis, but the plant appears to have gone through some very extreme stress and will likely lose all of the effected foliage (perhaps the entire plant)

I don't think that's drying damage, unless the sphagnum has ever gotten completely dry, which does not appear to be the case. Some sort of infection would be my guess, sudden collapse might be what we're looking at. I would inspect the base of the plant carefully for any signs of infection. If it's botrytis fungus the fruiting bodies should appear in a couple of days, little white hairlike and evenly spaced protrusions will invade the surface of the plant.

Matt, these plants are from your store, I've had one division in my pot die similarly, and another member recently experienced a plant that looked very similar which I also believe you replaced. I think you may have some type of systemic fungi in your plants that is exacerbated during stress of the plants.

I could be wrong, but looking at ps3isawesome's growing conditions look impeccable to be losing a fairly established and not recently unpotted plant.
By David F
I don't think it will be easily transmitted to your nepenthes, considering their waxy cuticle. And if it is botrytis or similar it will need to produce fruiting bodies before it can spread.

It should be kept away from other cephalotus.
By Nancy