FlytrapCare Carnivorous Plant Forums

Sponsored by FlytrapStore.com

Ask questions about how to grow and care for Venus Flytraps

Moderator: Matt

By Lewis
Hi guys,

My name is Lewis, I am studying for my masters degree in Biology and am currently running a plasticity experiment with around 80 Dionaea.

I have them set up in a grow room standing in ~5cm of R0 water with plenty of light and humidity. However I am having some issues which I hope someone might be able to help me with as I am hoping to get this study published, which will increase what is known about everyone's favorite carnivorous plant!!

At first my Dionaea had large traps and thin upright petioles, however soon after the move into the lab, from the supplier, many began to go dormant. The majority of plants did not go dormant however but are now growing winter leaves, which are smaller and less vertical than the summer forms. I am feeding the plants one maggot a week as part of the feeding stage of my experiment, however the smaller winter traps are unable to contain the maggots with many escaping. What would you recommend as an alternate food source or is there a way to prepare the maggots to avoid them escaping.

Another issue that I am having is that many of the traps seem to have lost their appetite! They are not closing as quickly or as well as they used to with some just not closing at all, even with a viable food source present.

Thirdly, there seem to be a large number of small, black flies around my plants. To try and combat this I have put up flypaper and now this flypaper is inundated with small flies.

Any help that you can give me to get me plants to get their appetite back, prepare my prey and deal with my pest problem would be much appreciated!!

Thankyou!
By Maiden
Hello Lewis and welcome to flytrapcare forum.

I think this webpage will help you;
http://www.flytrapcare.com/feeding-venus-fly-traps