FlytrapCare Carnivorous Plant Forums

Sponsored by FlytrapStore.com

Discuss Sarracenia, Heliamphora, Darlingtonia, Cephalotus plant care here

Moderator: Matt

By mktamin
My friend knows I love VFT's, and today, he suprised my with a Sarracenia to add to my growing collection of carnivorous plants :P
However, I have no experience whatsoever with pitcherplants and I am having difficulty finding care tips online, so I have questions:
Does it really need high humidity, or can I take it out the little clear box thing?
Does it need different soil from VFT soil of 50/50 peat and perlite?
The pot seems to be very crowded...Do they need to have a lot of room, or can they be very crowded like a VFT?
Can I place it outside all year? : http://www.weather.com/outlook/health/a ... h/USCA0278
Anything else I should know.
By Matt
Congratulations on your Sarracenia! Their care requirements are essentially identical to VFTs:
1) Lots of sun
2) Clean water
3) Peat moss/perlite/sand media

Humidity isn't terribly important. And yes, it can be placed outside all year.
By sipecsus
Yeah pitcher plants love sunlight! That's how they get their color be be sure to always have water in the pitchers to prevent withering! About one third full , if u fill it too much the pitcher could snap!
By Redneck_Angel
mktamin wrote:My friend knows I love VFT's, and today, he suprised my with a Sarracenia to add to my growing collection of carnivorous plants :P
Wow, I need friends like that! lol
By Pat
I wouldnt worry about filling the pitchers with water, Sarras will produce their own digestive fluids. There is an exeption for S.purpurea which relies on rain water for gigestion but if they are kept out side you shouldnt have to worry about this. If the plant looks crowded you can repot it in early spring but my plants dont seem to be too worried about being abit crowded so you could wait till next year.

Hope this helps, Pat.
By mktamin
Redneck_Angel wrote:Wow, I need friends like that! lol