FlytrapCare Carnivorous Plant Forums

Sponsored by FlytrapStore.com

Talk about your orchids and share photos of them here

Moderator: Matt

By ironjaws
I've got a phalaenopsis, or rather, my mom has a phalaenopsis orchid(the label says phalaenopsisxaphrodite, I don't know if that matters) that came in nothing but sphagnum moss. I'm a total rookie when it comes to plants in general(I can grow weeds and crab grass like nobodies business, though :lol: ).

Anyway, after the orchid's flower spike dried up it was cut off at the base. Then the two leaves that were on there started to wilt/wrinkle. It took a while to figure out the part about bright INDIRECT light.

Having had the two leaves wrinkling up, I did some research. We then uprooted the plant to check the roots... ugh, what a mess: hollow, mushy, brownish, squishy roots. We cut off all the ugly dead roots and were only left with a couple of thin wiry roots. It was then planted in 50/50 sphagnum/perlite. It was left like this for a long while and it began to grow a couple more leaves. The two new leaves at only about 1.5 to 2 inches seemed to stop growing and the tips started to brown or dry. So, again, we repotted, and found that there were no new roots. We repotted in 50/50 sphagnum/Better Gro Special Orchid Mix; the one with fir bark, charcoal, perlite. It's been in this much more airy mix for about a week.

My question(finally :roll: ) is:
1.Since this mix contains fir bark, I should use a fertilizer higher in Nitrogen right?
2.I've got Miracle Gro Plant Food Spikes that are 10-10-10, is this good for now?
3.Should I use ANY type of fertilizer right now, since the plant has so few roots?
4.What is the growth rate of these pretty flowers(I bough myself one, damn, I tried to fight it but I caved :lol: ), should we be seeing any growth/new growth or changesby now?

I apologize there are no pics, but I do not want to uproot the plant again and stress it out any further. I appreciate any and all help/tips/advice.