FlytrapCare Carnivorous Plant Forums

Sponsored by FlytrapStore.com

Ask questions about how to grow and care for Venus Flytraps

Moderator: Matt

By Wesley8401
Hi guys!
I am shinning new at this forum same as i am in growing carnivores :)
I live in Belgium and since beginning of this month i putted them in a cooler place then they were before,this morning a couple of mins ago to be exact i tried giving them a small spider.
As they closed before they are not closing anymore at all can this be an indicator for dormancy?
The plants look still good and from one of them there is one leaf slowly turning brown as for the rest i would say they still are nicely green and red inside.
I am new to this and have read about it for a while so atleast i took off with a good start.
For some reason i cant upload files because to big as soon as figured out i will make the size of it smaller.
Thank u very much
greetings!:)
1383733656NIMG_2138.gif.jpg
1383733656NIMG_2138.gif.jpg (136.81 KiB) Viewed 1524 times
By cyph3r_gfy
Your newest 4 growth points do not appear to be dormant growth. That newest tiny one may be. It is common to lose summer growth during dormancy. However, it could be stress related due to the recent move and change in growing conditions. This could also be the reason why the traps would not react.

My plants will feed year round... IF, and a big IF, they can catch food due to the slower reaction to prey. Keep an eye on your newest growth.... If it grows low to the ground and has significantly smaller traps, it is going dormant.
By Matt
Wesley8401 wrote:As they closed before they are not closing anymore at all can this be an indicator for dormancy?
No, traps still function during dormancy. In your case, the traps that are no longer working are just old traps that have run their course and are at the end of their lifespan. Soon after the trap stops working, the leaf usually turns yellow then brown and wilts.