FlytrapCare Carnivorous Plant Forums

Sponsored by FlytrapStore.com

Discuss Sarracenia, Heliamphora, Darlingtonia, Cephalotus plant care here

Moderator: Matt

By buakawswagyo
Do any of you guys fill your purps or heli's with water? I'm growing my purps in a window and my helis in a terrarium..
Any help or suggestions would be much appreciated! This is my first year growing cp's
-thanks
By parker679
Yes and no. My heli is inside and still quite small so it always looks empty though I do try to fill it.

My purps are all outside so they usually always have liquid in them. I don't go out of the way to fill them but if I happen to be top watering them I will fill them all up.

It's not a bad practice to make sure there is always some amount of water in them. If they're indoors I probably wouldn't fill them all the way though, maybe half full give or take.
By Cory
I mist my heli's daily. Usually filling their pitchers.
The water will gradually seek its own level as the leaf will let the water out as need be.
I have never done this with purps but I don't think I would hurt.
Last edited by Cory on Mon Sep 16, 2013 11:04 pm, edited 1 time in total.
By buakawswagyo
For real? That's great news thanks for repling so fast guys, I got one heli hybrid mature pitchers and they have been cracking and shriveling up and I thought maybe to add water to them iv just been misting but ill deff go hard on the misting on that particular one and as far as the purps there as healthy as can be but I put a moth in one an I died but its just laying there for months not getting digested. And this is probably obvious but you guys are using distilled water for this right?
By buakawswagyo
Very interesting Superthrive solution.. I bet that would be good in my circumstance, as I am also fighting against shock from shipping, but idk you seem like an expert! I'm still learning. These tips are anxiety killers for sure.
By buakawswagyo