FlytrapCare Carnivorous Plant Forums

Sponsored by FlytrapStore.com

Ask questions about how to grow and care for Venus Flytraps

Moderator: Matt

By DD7990
Hi, My name is Wendy, and I recently ordered a single Vigorous VFT as a pet plant from flytrapstore.com http://www.flytrapcare.com/store/venus- ... p-vigorous because I was looking for a hardy strain for a beginner since I have no previous experience taking care of VFT. Hopefully, this is indeed a good beginner VFT?

Supplies and care:
I did spend several hours researching about VFT care prior to ordering the plant and bought some supplies: Premier sphagnum peat moss Image, a light almost-white colored (to help reflect the hot rays of sun) plastic pot http://www.walmart.com/ip/Mainstays-13. ... r/17011306 with diameter 11.5in x 9in Height/depth (is this good diameter/depth?)... and 6 x http://www.walmart.com/ip/Great-Value-D ... l/10315382 (total 6 gallons for starters, 2 jugs/gallons of this will be used to clean the peat moss and the remaining 4 gallons for watering over time as needed) as I saw that people had said the Walmart Great Value distilled water was acceptable with tds ranging from 0-38 ppm (can anyone confirm this for me please? has anyone used this successfully? I know the best way to know for sure is to get a tds meter but I have reached my budget limit for now so I will need the word of others about using distilled water from walmart for the time being). I am planning to use only peat moss because I can't currently afford to buy a huge bag of perlite to mix in. Nonetheless, do these supplies seem appropriate/adequate?

Cleaning the peat moss: