FlytrapCare Carnivorous Plant Forums

Sponsored by FlytrapStore.com

Ask questions about how to grow and care for Venus Flytraps

Moderator: Matt

By Brildayr
I'm completely new to CPs and am working on not killing my plants! I originally had this terrarium in a front window of my office, but I'm pretty sure it wasn't getting enough light. There is a 10ft overhang in front of the office. i've since moved it back into my office once I got my new SMD LED light. I'm wondering what you think of my setup, and especially what I should change. I've had them under the new light for about a week. I also believe I was over watering them when they were up front because once i let all of the water disappear from underneath in the rocks, they started to grow like weeds.

********** edit ***********
I'm in central Missouri

Once I moved them under the new light, they struggled a little. The sundew seemed to perc up first. The Crested is doing good now I think. The Muscupula isn't so happy yet.

I think my soil might not be deep enough. There is rock on the bottom, maybe an inch. The soil depth above the rocks is approx. 1 1/2".

Light, purchased from ebay.
http://www.ebay.com/itm/Plant-Grow-60-S ... 4165180b18
60SMD LED (20 Red 600Nm & 40 UV Blue 400Nm)
110 Volts AC
10 Watts
Luminous Flux - 800LM (Ultraviolet (UVA) & Red Range Combined)
Inspected and Certified in the USA by an Engineer!
Works in standard 110V AC House Screw in Socket (E27)
Not Dimmable.
60 SMD LEDs 10W 800LM
60 SMD LEDs 10W 800LM
smd_led_60.jpg (75.83 KiB) Viewed 7916 times
here is a pic on how its setup. Do I have the light too close?
Terrarium setup
Terrarium setup
terrarium.jpg (13.63 KiB) Viewed 7916 times
My sundew came this way. Like the ice cream dome on an ice cream cone. Should I split this up and if so how. (I B clueless)
Sundew ice cream cone
Sundew ice cream cone
doc_sundew.jpg (154.78 KiB) Viewed 7916 times
doc_sundew_sideview.jpg
doc_sundew_sideview.jpg (77.41 KiB) Viewed 7916 times