FlytrapCare Carnivorous Plant Forums

Sponsored by FlytrapStore.com

Ask questions about how to grow and care for Venus Flytraps

Moderator: Matt

By FisH
I bought some more VFT's to my collection. Since there are little sun here in this time of year (atleast in Norway).

Can I use a UV lamp? What kind of lamp can I use :-)?
By Daniel_G
A UV lamp will most likely burn your FlyTrap and not help it at all, the most likely bulb you can use is a Flourescent lamp, or a CFL, if your feeling very adventurous, you can try a LED light :)

Good luck!
By chriscanivorous
Hi im not 100% sure about lighting im a newbie myself.
I been looking into this myself because i live in dull england.
I belive white cfl bulbs work the best basically the brighter the better,
maybe i wrong im just a newbie ;)
By Grey
As Daniel said, UV lights and regular hallogen bulbs emit a high amount of heat and will likely burn your venus fly traps. Although they can be quite bright, I don't believe their light spectrum is correct anyway.

The light spectrum is really one of the largest things you need to consider when choosing a lamp or lighting for your carnivorous plants. Blue lighting encourages plant growth, red lighting encourages flowering and seed production so if you want to get the most out of your plants you need a full spectrum light.

So a full spectrum, 6500k, at least 20W flourescent bulb is a safe bet. The higher the wattage the better, just make sure any power supply you use for it can handle the wattage you choose or you'll end up with a fire.

Generally the further your plants are from your lighting, the stronger the light needs to be. That's all I know to be honest.
Grey liked this
By FisH
So If I buy a flourescent bulb @ 6500k (is "k" the same as lumen?) with atleast 20w, could that help the plant getting more "red" in the leaves?

I will see if I can source some of those bulbs. I thought that UV is the same (flourescent).